Custom Orders

Custom Order: Leather Medical Bag

20150630_104653I love doing custom orders. There is something I enjoy about working collaboratively with someone to make something in particular they have been looking for. Plus, custom orders often give me an expanded idea of colors and styles people are looking to buy at any given time.

And sometimes, custom orders challenge my skills and creativity – in a good way – adding new techniques and patterns to my repertoire.

A couple of weeks into the Virginia Renaissance Faire, I got talking with a gentleman who was admiring my new leather hip bags. There was a particular bag he wanted for a while, but hadn’t found someone who would make it. I was willing to give it a try.

First off, it’s hard to tell from the picture, but this bag is rather huge. Think of it like an oversize messenger bag and you can understand the scale. He wanted a large black leather bag with an adjustable cross body strap, extra buckle straps on the front for scrolls or maps, and a white tooled caduceus.

I am so happy with how it turned out! It took a bit longer than I planned – mostly some minor challenges in finding the matching hardware I wanted – but I hope he’ll be as happy with the end result as I am.

Up close on the custom tooling. I did all of the dying and painting from plain, blond leather. It's a pet-able finish.

Up close on the custom tooling. I did all of the dying and painting from plain, blond leather. It’s a pet-able finish.

Under the front flap, buckles for maps or scrolls. I admit I messed up 3 times on attaching one of these. Undoing rivets sucks.

Under the front flap, buckles for maps or scrolls. I admit I messed up 3 times on attaching one of these. Undoing rivets sucks.

Loop for optional belt attachment.

Loop for optional belt attachment.

Leave a Reply

