Geek Shopping

Geeky Shopping: Vintage Science Fiction

Every once in a while, I give some thought to actually collecting something. And then I remember I don’t really have the time, space, or money right now to do so. But my latest “wouldn’t it be neat to collect?” whim was vintage science fiction. You know, all those “futuristic” things from decades past that we thought was what the future would be like? Or memorabilia from shows and movies long gone?

Yeah, I think it would be neat to have those things.

In that spirit, here’s a look at some neat vintage science fiction things you can find on Etsy. It’s not just for crafts, after all – there are some amazing vintage stores, too.

Advertisements are a great look at what people imagined the future to be. Transfer of Treasures has this wonderful vintage ad of a futuristic ocean ship design.

Advertisements are a great look at what people imagined the future to be. Transfer of Treasures has this wonderful vintage ad of a futuristic ocean ship design.

As much as I cringe slightly that my childhood is now considered "vintage," I love this ALF toy from Abate Arts.

As much as I cringe slightly that my childhood is now considered “vintage,” I love this ALF toy from Abate Arts.

One thing I do own a couple of are old science fiction anthology magazines. I love the color illustrations! Start your own collection with these three from Open Slate.

One thing I do own a couple of are old science fiction anthology magazines. I love the color illustrations! Start your own collection with these three from Open Slate.

Nothing says retro  futuristic like ray guns, and this one is from the 1930s. It and many other wonderful old toys can be found at Soulful Offerings.

Nothing says retro futuristic like ray guns, and this one is from the 1930s. It and many other wonderful old toys can be found at Soulful Offerings.

I love the look of old robots! This colorful little fella is a wind up toy, and is available at Urs Today.

I love the look of old robots! This colorful little fella is a wind up toy, and is available at Urs Today.

Olives and Doves has this wonderful bright red vintage robot toy. Isn't he charming?

I love vintage robots so much, I had to include two of them. Olives and Doves has this wonderful bright red vintage robot toy. Isn’t he charming?

Rockets and astronauts oh my! I love the retro rocket ships on this top from The Generals Warchest.

Rockets and astronauts oh my! I love the retro rocket ships on this top from The Generals Warchest.

Leave a Reply

