Inside the Craft Studio

Fake Old Book Safe

In using books to display my latest book jewelry, I started taking some old books and making book safes out of them. The original idea was to use these as display pieces: put some of my salvaged book jewelry in hollowed out old books. Then I’m really using everything – the pages for my jewelry, the covers and remainders as displays.

But one of the old books I picked to do this with turned out to be an ugly pastel green. It looked dirty even when it wasn’t. I didn’t want that on my display. So, I made it a new cover…

New fake leather cover on an ugly old book.

New fake leather cover on an ugly old book.

Inside, a fun place to hide stuff.

Inside, a fun place to hide stuff. And you can almost see some of the old green if you look hard enough.

Can you guess what the cover is made of? It is actually fun foam. You know, the cheap sheet stuff you find in the kids section of the craft store. Remarkably versatile stuff, fun foam. I love the old leather look I managed with the end result.

I’m thinking of putting together a step by step DIY post for the project so you can make your own fake tome with nifty hiding place. Interested?

And you can see this book in person at Farpoint this coming weekend. Stop by and say hi!

One thought on “Fake Old Book Safe

  1. I know it’s late, but oh please do a DIY. I love book crafts but feel terrible at the thought of cutting up a decent looking book. This looks like a great way to reuse icky reader’s digest type of stuff!

Leave a Reply

