Costuming / LARP

Costume Sunday – Valkyrie as an Angel

Valkyrie as an angelI’m still hard at work on my Halloween costume for this year, but here is one more costume from last year. Yes, I do tend to wear several Halloween costumes in a year. This was from a vampire LARP event last year, which makes the costume amusingly multi-layered – dressing as my character Valkyrie, who is dressing as an angel.

The dress started its life as a store bought Roman Goddess costume. I very rarely buy costumes, and when I do I buy high quality ones with the intent that I will wear them multiple times. I wanted a white and gold angel, so I dressed up the Roman dress with bits of gold fabric at the shoulders. I also added a gold belt with attached short sheer overskirt. The gold fabric actually serves two purposes – my belt has pockets for my character sheet, and the belt and shoulder fabrics hide the wing harness.

The wings are of course what makes this costume. There is a belt and shoulder harness under the dress, so the weight is around my middle instead of on my shoulders. The wing skeleton is PVC pipes, and there is a pivot point just above my shoulders so they fold. To raise the wings, cables are attached just above the pivot. Pull on the cables and (with practice) voila – unfurled angel wings.

Over the pipe skeleton is poster board, then white fabric, then a lot of feathers. The longer feathers were hand painted with gold paint to tip the wings the way I wanted. White boas help hide the pivot joints in the back, and gold lace smooths out the upper edge of the wings. These wings are definitely attention getting.

The wings in their relaxed, folded position.

The wings in their relaxed, folded position, and a better view of the overskirt.

Mark and I in our coordinated costumes, dark and light angels. We won best costume for the event.

Mark and I in our coordinated costumes, dark and light angels. We won best costume for the event.

Leave a Reply

