DIY / Holidays / Tutorials

Halloween Crafts: Potion Bottles

It should be no surprise to any of you, but I love Halloween. It’s that time of year when I can make all sorts of unusual things, sew awesome costumes, and not only is it not weird, people compliment me on it. So, for the rest of the month, it’s all Halloween fun here at The Crafty Geek!

I had a black and white Mage masquerade theme for my Halloween party this year. The first project I tackled was a bunch of potion bottles. It’s an easy Halloween craft that’s a lot of fun, and you can add more to your collection every year. I know I plan to.

Potion bottle display for Halloween

Bottles: Some of the best bottles can be found at thrift stores. I’ve built up a collection over time. Craft stores will also have some unique shapes sometimes. One of the bottles I used is actually a little shampoo bottle. I chose to spray paint my bottle silver so they would match my party color theme, but you can also keep them clear or colored and old looking. If you keep your bottles clear, you’ll also want to think about what you put inside them to give them an authentic look. Colored liquids and plastic toys or fake flowers can be a good start.

Labels: There are a lot of free printable labels out there, as well as some wonderful digital files for sale on Etsy. You can also create your own. I had a minor problem when printing mine – my color printer decided to be on the fritz. So I printed them out in black and white. On some of them, I added a little color with colored pencil before adhering them.

Some of the bottles were odd shapes that did not work well with labels, so I put the labels on tags and tied them to the bottles. The labels will look best if they are able to lie flat. Apply a thin coat of glue to the back of the paper, then adhere the label to the bottle or tag.

Finishing Touches: Fabric, ribbons, charms and wax are a good way to dress up your bottles. Wax can be used to seal corks, and dripped down the sides makes the bottles look a bit older. Fabric and ribbon over the top can hide odd seams or bottle lids that don’t quite match the potion bottle aesthetic.

Finally, find a good way to display your bottles. My display is actually on top of a mini-fridge in my basement, covered with old lace. They would also look great on a mantle or a neat set of old shelves. Finish up the display with some fun decor accessories – rubber snakes, mortar and pestle, and various things that look like they go well with potion making.

My complete potion display

My complete potion display

One thought on “Halloween Crafts: Potion Bottles

  1. Pingback: Friday Shopping: Handmade Halloween | The Crafty Geek

Leave a Reply

