Geek Shopping

Geek Shopping: Steampunk United

So, there’s been a touch of steampunk in several of my posts lately. Costumes. Jewelry. I like the aesthetic. So, here’s a celebration of the diverse and eclectic world of steampunk, handmade by more Etsy artists.

Click on the images to be taken to the artists’ shops. All photos belong to the artists.

I keep wanting to call this little fellow the "bulb bug." Excellent use of found materials in this brooch by Denise of SpankySpanglerDesign

I keep wanting to call this little fellow the “bulb bug.” Excellent use of found materials in this brooch by Denise of SpankySpanglerDesign

With this picture, I am convinced all proper French Bulldogs should have monocles. I think Mortecai, by Odder Than Antiquity, would agree.

With this picture, I am convinced all proper French Bulldogs should have monocles. I think Mortecai, by Odder Than Antiquity, would agree.

My steampunk world is now complete. Cedar Moon actually made a steampunk yard flamingo. Have I mentioned I was a flamingo in my very first ballet recital? Yeah, me and flamingos go way back.

My steampunk world is now complete. Cedar Moon actually made a steampunk yard flamingo. Have I mentioned I was a flamingo in my very first ballet recital? Yeah, me and flamingos go way back.

How about a little 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea in your daily life? That's what this switch cover by Sooke Sculptures makes me think of.

How about a little 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea in your daily life? That’s what this switch cover by Sooke Sculptures makes me think of.

The detail on this piece is just amazing. I wish I knew someone who collected tea pots! By Richard Symons Art.

The detail on this piece is just amazing. I wish I knew someone who collected tea pots! By Richard Symons Art.

Wait, even chocolat comes in steampunk now? My day is made! Thank you TheFrostedPetticoat!

Wait, even chocolate comes in steampunk now? My day is made! Thank you TheFrostedPetticoat!

Steampunk working flash drives, people. You know you need one. By ReconstructedWorks.

Steampunk working flash drives, people. You know you need one. By ReconstructedWorks.

Steampunk does not always have to be brown. Sometimes, it can be a gorgeous green, like this outfit by Patrician Designs Etc.

Steampunk does not always have to be brown. Sometimes, it can be a gorgeous green, like this outfit by Patrician Designs Etc.

There is a lot of steampunk jewelry out there, so it takes something unique to make a piece stand out. The gears on this pendant by GreenTreeJewelry actually move. How's that for unique?

There is a lot of steampunk jewelry out there, so it takes something unique to make a piece stand out. The gears on this pendant by GreenTreeJewelry actually move. How’s that for unique?

More wonderful steampunk from Etsy can be found in my treasury here. And I’m still open to ideas for future Geek Shopping Fridays!

Finally, I’m happy to say Laura is the winner of my very first giveaway! Let me know which piece of recycled book jewelry you would like (pendant, earrings, or cuff links) and how you would like me to get them to you.

Leave a Reply

