Geek Shopping

Geeky Shopping: Not-So-Creepy Dolls

If I could collect one thing, one category of artwork, I would collect art dolls. Unfortunatly, I’m the only one in my house that doesn’t think dolls are creepy. So, the small doll collection I do have lives on one overcrowded shelf in my craft room. If I did have the room,  here are some beauties on Etsy that I would love to add to my collection.

Click on the images to go to the Etsy stores and buy cool art! All images belong to the respective artists.

Nadia

Anja Haider made this gorgeous polymer clay doll/sculpture. Her name is Nadia. She reminds me of my favorite Dungeons and Dragon’s character. Actually, I just love leafy, red-headed fantasy characters.

Count Orlok Doll

This adorable painted wood doll of Count Orlok from Nosferatu was made by Terry of Licoicewits. He’s only 3 inches high, so I could totally make room for him, right?

Max the Pilot

Lola has taken the soft doll to new heights (no pun intended… okay, maybe a little intended) with “Max the Pilot.”

Mermaid Rag Dolls

I want to cuddle one of these artsy, fantasy takes on a rag doll. Lovely! by Alison Frey of Anosila’s Drygoods

Jointed Mermaid

This mermaid is not so cuddly, and a little bit creepy – but isn’t she stunning? For a bonus “wow,” she comes with legs and a dress for those land based moments, too. By J. David McKenney

Oscar the Troll

And one last stunning doll/sculpture, this wonderful fantasy fellow is Oscar, and he’s a troll. By Elena Originals. I’m always impressed with detailed character sculpting, and boy does he seem to be a character!

5 thoughts on “Geeky Shopping: Not-So-Creepy Dolls

  1. you got my art doll mojo going. torn, have been sewing lately and now want to make art dolls!! wow, some great stuff, started a new pinterest board and just wasted(not) an hour looking at dolls. Would love to start my collection with some of these.

  2. will let you know, first I’m making an Idris costume (Doctor Who), just finished my first corset, and making some head wraps in comic book fabric for the hubby – we’ll see just how long all that takes me. I’ve got a great book in my stash here to start me off.

Leave a Reply

