DIY / Inside the Craft Studio / Iron Craft

Iron Craft #1: Paper

In another New Year’s resolution, I decided to give my creativity a little boost. To that end, I started the year looking into craft challenges and communities that could help me keep the crafting bug going all year long.

To that end, I found and joined Iron Craft. The concept is that every two weeks there is an “ingredient” challenge. You have two weeks to create whatever you like from there and then share with the group via flickr.

The first challenge of the year was “Paper.” Since I regularly buy, pick up, or otherwise find old board games for the pieces I can make into jewelry, this was a good chance to use some of the other pieces that come in each set. I eventually settled on my old starter Dungeons and Dragons set from the 80s that my brother had found while cleaning house. I had already used some of the pieces for other projects, but there were these little paper stand up characters I had not figured out a use for yet.

I cut out the standees so they had clean edges and laid them flat, face down on clear contact paper. Once I had a sheet as large as I wanted, I semi-adhered that to a remnant piece of blue fabric lining. (It won’t stay adhered, but it was enough to keep it in place as I worked.) Then, using a simple purse I own as a design guide, I sewed in a zipper, then sewed together the sides to make this cute bag.

I wouldn’t suggest heavy use with it, but I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

 

4 thoughts on “Iron Craft #1: Paper

  1. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. All the best and goodluck.

  2. Pingback: [select:Gamer Bag|Gamer Bag | Games -World-

Leave a Reply

