About Me / Inside the Craft Studio

I admit it: I’m a craft hoarder

Beads, waiting to be made into earrings or necklaces or something.

I love craft supplies. For years, I worked at a local craft store, eventually ending up in charge of all the in-store displays. That meant I got to try out everything in the store, which except for the pay made it one of the best jobs ever. At some point in time, I have tried most crafts. I am more skilled at some than others but I can honestly say I have tried just about everything.

(Except crochet. For some reason, I’ve never gotten the hang of even beginner crochet.)

This means I regularly get the idea of “I can do that!” And then I go buy the supplies for my next great craft or DIY idea. Some, I get done right away. Some sit for months, get started and never get finished, or never get started at all.

While I am not a hoarder in the full psychological, reality show meaning, I love craft supplies. And I hate getting rid of supplies, even when I know I’m never actually going to get the project done.

So, I have actually made a New Year’s resolution. This year, I am not allowed to buy a new project until I complete a project or sell/get rid of the supplies for a project I’m not going to do. (Now, this does not count supplies for Wyrd and Wired inventory, of course – those are projects I keep working on year round.)  Thus far, I’m in good shape. Since the beginning of the year, I have completed Mark’s blanket I’d been promising him for a year, and bought supplies for and completed a purse made out of game pieces.

Let’s hear it for finishing projects!

3 thoughts on “I admit it: I’m a craft hoarder

  1. I appreciate your post, it is interesting and compelling. I stumbled upon my way here through Google, I’ll come back another time 🙂

  2. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

  3. Pingback: Cool Closet Organization images - AOrganization.com | AOrganization.com

Leave a Reply

