Dragon*Con / Event Reviews

Dragon*Con 2011 Part 4: Saturday

Because we stayed in the Westin hotel, our Saturday could pretty much begin one of two ways: getting out early to get over to the dealer’s room before the parade blocked our way, or getting out early to find a seat and watch the parade. Since I had not gotten to see the parade in years, Mark and I made a new deal – we’d alternate years with seeing the parade or opening the booth. So, this year he opened to booth and I got to watch the parade. We grabbed one of the Zucas (awesome rolling bag that doubles as a stool is one of our convention staples) so Jen could sit with her bad ankle, grabbed an early spot on the curb, ate our breakfast and watched the parade go by.
 
Azkaban Prisoner Escape

She's escaping! Belatrix is chased by a dementor in the parade's Harry Potter group.

Caterpillar

Alice in Wonderland wouldn't be complete without the caterpillar.

Ursula and Snow White

Ursula was always one of my favorite Disney villians.

15 - Warhammer

Wonderfully detailed Warhammer 40k costume.

281

Netherworld Haunted House always has a great presence in the parade.

Are you my mummy?

This Doctor Who episode always creeps me out.

12 and 27b - The Doctor Drives a Delorean!

Doesn't the Doctor know that's the wrong time machine?

429

Don't piss off the bounty hunters.

 
 
Saturday is always a good sales day at Dragon*Con, so the booth was busy all afternoon. Afterwards, we packed up quickly so that we could get to Benihana for Jen’s birthday dinner. We sat at the table with another convention group sharing their anniversary and had a good time with good food. Then, it was time to hurry back to the room… for costumes!
 
We’d planned our costumes for months before Dragon*Con, but this was the first time we’d gotten to wear them. Jen, Mark and I were steampunk Batman villians: Poison Ivy, Bane, and Harley Quinn. There was just one problem with my costume. My corset had gotten stuck in the mail, and didn’t arrive at the house until after we left. Fortunatly I’m resourcefull. I had an extra scrap of red fabric that matched my bloomers and hat, and my black underbust corset. Mark helped me secure the fabric as a top, and it looked like this was supposed to be the outfit. A little… well, more daring than I usually am with my tops, but it worked.
 
All costumed up, we went for another hotel evening wander as a group. The costumes got a great response when spotted. We took pictures with other versions of our characters and generally had a great time with the attention.
 
There were a couple of amusing moments while costumed that I have to share. First of all, while walking around the bottom floor of the Marriott, trying to navigate the crowds, Jen and I almost walked directly into Felicia Day. She didn’t notice, as she was in the middle of chewing out a rude fan. (For the record, he deserved it.) So while we stood there a bit awkwardly until we could get around, Mark doesn’t notice, because he has somehow ended up in a conversation with Will Wheaton. I hear Mark explaining our costumes, and the appreciative response to his costume of “Bane doesn’t get enough love.”
 
Random hallway meetings are always fun. 🙂
 
We didn’t stay out in costume long, because Jen had to take off her support boot for the costume and we really didn’t want to have to carry her back up the hill if she hurt herself worse. So, after an hour or two of wandering we headed back out. The route that was easiest on bad joints was also a little off the well traveled path, along the side of the hotel. Halfway up the hill, a group of young guys randomly come running toward us from across the street. We were startled, but turns out they just loved the costumes and wanted pictures with us. So there were smiles and laughter, and on that high note we closed out another awesome Dragon*Con day.
 
2 thoughts on “Dragon*Con 2011 Part 4: Saturday

  1. I?m impressed, I have to say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that?s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough individuals are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my seek for something regarding this.

Leave a Reply

